Weather

In the three weeks I have been here, there was already a taifoon, an earthquake, a tsunami and a volcano eruption. Since Japan is huge, none of them effected me directly but there were area’s where it was hard.

Since Japanese are used to these natural phenomens, I got the impression they didn’t think much of it. But I experienced a lot of rain dye to the taifoon and no drying clothes. It really rained nonstop so I got used to umbrella and felt empty without it. Nevertheles, I managed to lose my umbrella several times. 

When entering a building, you can find a machine where you can get plastic bags to put your dripping umbrella in. It’s quite useful. A lot of people have the same transparent umbrella. So it might be a good idea to mark yours if you get the same umbrella.

But eventually it got all sunny and warm again. And then, one night at around 5 o’clock in the morning, I woke up because my whole room was shaking. Still sleepy, I noticed brilliantly this was an earthquake. So I waited. Then I remembered I should protect myself. Although it didn’t feel that dangerously. Use a cushion? Hide beneath desk? Eventually , I stumbled through my dark, shaking room to my desk and hid. A few seconds later, it stopped and I went to bed again and immediately continued sleeping. On the news I heard it was a middle hard one. 

With the Rikkyo University orientation days, we went to the 防災センター( disaster prevention center (?))  in Ikebukuro where they let me experience the biggest earthquake they’ve had. I kind of got scared after leaving. But I learned a lot! Still, I hope no big disaster will happen again. 

Leave a Reply

